Tokyo from above and below

Today was a pretty light day for us. It was our last full day here, so you’d think we’d be trying to cram last-minute things in. But with all the walking we’ve done lately I was kind of over it. I must say I was a little disappointed with myself. As a former Parisian who walked everywhere for the past 3 years, I thought I would hold up better than I did. I guess those few months in the US driving all the time really softened me.

Anyways, our main objective for the day was to buy train tickets to our next destination. Tomorrow we head for a little town outside of Nagano. This will require taking both the high-speed rail as well as a local train, and although we probably could have figured it out by ourselves, we decided to ask an actual ticket salesperson to book it for us. This turned out to be way easier and faster than using a machine. Take that AI!

Tickets in hand, we decided to explore the “famous” basement floors of the Tokyo department stores where it they have nothing but high-end food. It was quite something to see, but unfortunately I wasn’t allowed to take pictures (but I did manage to sneak 2 in).

After walking through and realizing Tim would have a stroke if I tried to buy anything, we headed upstairs for coffee and to take in the view.

Since it was raining that day, I can’t say we really did much else. That evening, for our last night in Tokyo, we returned to the cheap and delicious charcoal grilled fish place.

IMG_1313

Downtown Tokyo

IMG_1312

IMG_1311

A department store food mall

IMG_1309

Cakes on wheels are a big thing here. I don’t really know what they are, and I don’t think I was supposed to take pictures, but I managed to sneak one.

IMG_4731

Fake food is an art here. Factories make the realistic looking molds and then artists paint then to make them look as much like the real thing as possible. This is from the restaurant that makes the grilled fish meal we liked so much.

Leave a Reply

